Westerdijk Institute researchers become AAM Fellow by Webmaster News 2018-01-24 12:55:59

Washington, DC - January 16, 2018 - In January, the American Academy of Microbiology elected 96 new Fellows. Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology, an honorific leadership group within the ASM, are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-review process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology. There are over 2,400 Fellows representing all subspecialties of the microbial sciences and involved in basic and applied research, teaching, public health, industry, and government service. In addition, Fellows hail from all around the globe. The “Class of 2018" represents fellows from Bangladesh, the Netherlands, Switzerland, China, Israel, Austria, Sweden, Belgium, and the UK.
The 2018 Academy Fellows from the Westerdijk Fungal Biodiversity Institute are:

  • Prof. dr. Pedro W. Crous, Director, Group Leader Evolutionary Phytopathology
  • Prof. dr Teun Boekhout, Group Leader Yeast Research